Home / About us / Association Governance

Association Governance

Management Committee Structure and Remit

The Management Committee is the Association’s governing body. It has a minimum of 7 and a maximum of 15 members, including any co-opted members who are appointed to fill any vacant places after the AGM. Elected members of the Management Committee generally serve for a three-year term while co-opted members serve only until the next AGM. Vacancies on the Management Committee are filled at our annual general meeting in September

Four sub-committees (made up of members of the Management Committee) support the work of the Management Committee, which are detailed in our governance structure chart.

These are:

  • Tenancy Services
  • Development & Property Services
  • Finance and General Purposes 
  • Audit and Risk 

The remit and authority of each Sub-Committee is described in Govanhill Housing Association’s Standing Orders. This committee structure enables detailed scrutiny of the Association’s major business areas, while also permitting the Management Committee to focus on its role of providing strategic direction and leadership.

If you are interested in becoming a member of our Management Committee please contact John Quinn Director, on 0141 636 3621.

Management Committee

John McLardie


John is currently a tenant of the Association and was previously a tenant of Glasgow Housing

Association. He was Chair of the Govanhill Local Housing Organisation from October 2005 until the transfer of stock to Govanhill in January 2011. He has served on the Management Committee of the Association for eight years, holding the position of Chairperson since February 2014.

Cheryl Miller

Vice Chairperson

Cheryl has lived in Govanhill as a tenant of the association for over 10 years and has brought her children now 12 and 7 up in the area. Her family have close ties with the area spanning over multiple generations. Keen to contribute to a community close to her heart she was Co-opted into the management committee and subsequently appointed as Vice Chairperson in September 2021. She has a background in Customer Service and Resolutions. However, she has been a full-time mature student for the last 6 years, very recently graduating from the University of Strathclyde.

Elizabeth Klein


Elizabeth has been a Govanhill Housing Association committee member for nine years and currently serves as Secretary. Following second-stage transfer, she became a tenant of the Association. She was Chair of the Merrylee Local Housing Organisation subcommittee and was previously a long-standing member of the Merrylee Tenant Management Co-operative.

Keith Kintrea


Keith was invited to join the Management Committee in February 2014 to fill a ‘casual vacancy’ between AGMs. He was then formally elected at the 2014 AGM. Keith lives in Crosshill and has been a member of the boards/committees of three other housing associations at various times, including chairing two of them. Keith is Professor of Urban Studies and Housing at the University of Glasgow.

Mujeeb Ur Rehmann

Mujeeb has been a tenant of Govanhill Housing Association since October 2005. Mujeeb has over 20 years of experience in working with private sector and community organisations dealing with financial management, business development, and community development.

Ghazala Hakeem

Ghazala has been a tenant for over 15 years. She has been a Management Committee member for eight years and has also served on the subsidiary company, Govanhill Community Development Trust. She has over thirteen years’ experience of various organisations’ management committees and boards. These include a women’s organisation, and in the youth, education, anti-poverty, community development and housing sectors.

Barbara Robertson

Barbara has lived in Govanhill for more than ten years and is involved with a number of local community

groups, including the Govanhill Stakeholders Group, Govanhill Community Action and the Irish Heritage Foundation. She has a background in social care and currently works at the University of the West of Scotland as a student case worker for the student association. Barbara has been a co-opted member since the beginning of the 2015 and was elected at the 2016 AGM.

Wilma Logan

Wilma is a well known member of the community, and has lived in Govanhill for over 14 years. Wilma joined the Management Committee in 2019.

Ian Docherty

Ian has lived in Govanhill for more than 25 years, and works full time in the procurator fiscal’s office.  Ian has two daughters who currently attend local schools and clubs in the area. Ian is enthusiastic about efforts being made to regenerate the area and wishes to assist in the future of Govanhill. Ian was elected to the Management Committee at the AGM in September 2017.

Audrey Flannigan

Audrey grew up around Eglington Toll and Govanhill, and although she moved away in her early 20s she maintained a connection to the area through the Elim Church. In 2020 Audrey moved back to Govanhill and became a tenant of the Association.

Audrey manages the South East Foodbank which is based at the Elim church and has done for the last 12 years.

Jen Cassells

Jen is an Environmental Manager and has lived in Govanhill for nearly 20 years. She joined the Management Committee following a succesful approach to the Association to take over the factoring of her close.